Norwegian version of this page

Anders Jahre's Awards for Medical Research

Anders Jahre's Awards for Medical Research honor research of outstanding quality in basic and clinical medicine. The prizes are awarded by the University of Oslo and are among the largest within Nordic biomedical research. 

  • The Anders Jahre Senior Medical Prize (the main prize) includes a grant of NOK 1,000,000
  • The Anders Jahre Prize for Young Scientists includes a grant of NOK 400,000
  • The prize is awarded every year in October

The prizes are awarded by the University of Oslo after nomination by a committee appointed by the University. 

How to nominate candidates

All professors of medicine serving in a Nordic country are invited to nominate potential awardees. We ask for a thorough explanation of the reason that the nominee should be considered for the prize. See how to nominate candidates.

The nominations for this year's awards had to be received within February 1 2019.



Nomination and general inquiries

The Selection Committee

The Award Ceremony

Public Relations and Events Office

Gry Kolbj?rnsen
Tel. +47 22 85 40 13

About the award

In 1953, Anders Jahre, a Norwegian shipowner, entrepreneur and philanthropist, donated one million Norwegian kroner to the University of Oslo, later followed by several additional endowments. These were used to establish the Anders Jahre Foundation for the Promotion of Science.

Previous prize winners

The Anders Jahre's Award for Medical Research was bestowed for the first time in 1960. Since 1965, the award has constituted two prizes: a main prize and a prize for young scientists.